The Sidney Prize and the Hillman Prize

The Sydney Prize is an annual award that recognises young writers who show promise in their writing. The winner receives $5,000 cash and their story is published in Overland magazine as well as online. The prize is sponsored by the Neilma Sidney Foundation and is open to writers worldwide.

This is an annual award that recognises outstanding undergraduate student work in any subject. The winner of the award will receive a cheque and certificate. The winner of the Sidney Prize is chosen by a panel of academic staff and representatives from the School. This is an excellent opportunity to showcase your talent and win a scholarship that will help with your studies.

Each year, the Society for the History of Technology awards several prizes and grants to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in scholarship, undergraduate teaching, and service to the Society. Each award is detailed below and has its own set of requirements for eligibility.

Sidney Cox Memorial Prize

The Sidney Cox Memorial Prize is awarded annually to the work of an undergraduate student in English that most nearly meets the high standards of originality and integrity which Sir Sidney Cox established for his students and his book, Indirections for Those Who Want to Write. The work must be written in the language of English and may be fiction or nonfiction.

Alyawarre woman Pat Anderson AO, Guugu Yimidhirr man Professor Megan Davis and University of Sydney law school alum Teela Reid have been awarded the 2023 Sydney Peace Prize for their efforts to promote the aspirations of the Uluru Statement on Healing and Reconciliation. The prize was announced at a ceremony in Canberra on Thursday.

Each year, the Sydney Peace Foundation honours a nominee who has promoted “peace with justice” and human rights and nonviolence. Previous winners have included Nobel laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu, journalist Julian Burnside and writers Arundhati Roy and Naomi Klein. The Black Lives Matter global network and the #MeToo movement have also been honoured.

In November, reporter Ese Olumhense won the 2022 Sidney Prize for Investigative Journalism. Her investigation exposed the highest level of voter suppression in decades. The report found that lawmakers across the country have attempted to increase police involvement in election investigations and expand laws against voter fraud.

The Hillman Foundation introduced the Hillman Prizes in 1950 to recognize journalists, writers and public figures who pursue social justice and public policy for the common good. Winners are selected monthly, and entries are accepted from the U.S and Canada. The foundation also administers a monthly Sidney Prize for journalism that explores the roots of violence and social injustice. The call for submissions for the 2024 Sidney and Hillman Prizes is now open. To learn more, visit the website here.